Thursday, August 24, 2023


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Airlie Beach Bowls Report

Already the days are getting longer with more daylight and although our little club did incur some intermittent issues with our cover and slight precipitation, it sure did not lose the quality of great bowling that was produced by our members and visitors this week.

Starting on Tuesday afternoon where our own Pam Collins team up with our visitor from Tweed Heads bowling club Robin Fuller to beat Els Van Soest and Brian Fuller as well as a star-studded field to be convincing winners of the day.

Wednesday afternoon Jackpot bowls well organised by Rick Galea and the very talented Merve Stewart saw 27 bowlers vying for the top prize.

The jackpot didn't go off and is building nicely.

The prestigious Health Hub award went to Sharon Callaghan to go with Robin Fuller's win on Tuesday and we thank their continued sponsorship of our little club.

Saturday morning saw Round 3 of Scroungers with first round winners John Askew, Rick Galea, Tony Whitehorn and the lovely Di Jackson playoff with the final between Rick Galea and Tony Whitehorn with Tony being crowned the winner whilst Russell Jackson had to survive a playoff with Steve Heddles to win the B division title.

Saturday afternoon and all-day Sunday saw the B Grade Pairs being played with some exhilarating performances all round, however our Chairman Ash Warland form over the weekend with great support with Ray Edwards saw them comfortably win the title with fantastic nail-biting performances.

Sunday afternoon social bowls saw 24 bowlers including Louise Woiwod, Tamara Bourke, and Luke Mensa whom have finished their lessons and ready for their first games and although a brilliant performance by Carol Crosbie with Mark Mawson and Robin Fuller the winners of the day the dice decided that it would be once again Tony Whitehorn with the vastly improved David Meiklejohn with club legend Jill Spencer taking home the money whilst the delightfully cheeky Dawn Dowell won the coveted Health Hub Award.

Contributed with thanks to Mark Mawson.

Ray Edwards with Ash Warland the B Grade Pairs Champions

In other news