Thursday, August 24, 2023


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Airlie Beach Bowls Report

Airlie Beach Bowls Club was unable to field any games this week due to weather save for its Saturday and Sunday matches.

The first round winners were Col Morris, Russell Jackson, Peter Barratt, Ted Cullen, Karen Jensen, and John Brown.

Finalists were Russell Jackson and Karen Jensen with Russell narrowly winning. B Grade winner was club favourite Rick Galea.

Saturday afternoon saw a great Open A Grade Men’s Round against Club Champion and top 200 singles player in Australia Manny Isgro and new bowler to the Club but former Proserpine Division 1 player David Ling.

David was off to an early 3-11 lead before Manny got his eye in and won 25-16.

Ladies’ Open Pairs saw Lynne Skeen and Lu Rogan win 21-17 against formidable opponents Margo Stanley and Jill Mazlin-Petersen.

Sunday afternoon was a “great roll up” with the biggest winners of the day Bobby Spees and Lu Rogan, who maintained her splendid form to guide the team to a 29-13 against a luckless Tony Kelly and Lynne Skeen.

Jill Mazlin-Petersen played against Sandra Argo with Jill coming out the winner 25-21.

Contributed with thanks to Mark Mawson

Lyn Graham with Airlie Beach Bowls Club winners Bob Spees and Lynne Skeen

In other news