Thursday, November 2, 2023


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Know What To Look For During An Emergency

The Australian Government has developed a national approach to information and warnings for hazards like bushfire, flood, storm, cyclone, extreme heat and severe weather.

The Australian Warning System (AWS) means the way the incidents are displayed during a possible or active emergency situation has changed.

The AWS provides consistent warnings, with the same alert levels across all natural disasters, so people know what to do when they see a warning level.

A warning provides point-in-time information about a hazard that is impacting or is expected to impact communities. It describes the impact and expected consequences for communities and includes advice on what people should do.

Every warning will have an icon that tells you what the hazard is, and the warning level and colour tells you what the danger level is.

There are three warning levels:

· Advice (yellow): An incident has started. There is no immediate danger. Stay up to date in case the situation changes.

· Watch and Act (Orange): There is a heightened level of threat. Conditions are change and you need to start taking action now.

· Emergency Warning (Red): An Emergency Warning is the highest level of warning. You may be in danger and need to take action immediately. Any delay now puts your life at risk.

For more information go to

In other news