Thursday, October 12, 2023


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Mackay Contract Bridge Club

The First National Mackay Congress 2023 was held over the previous long weekend in Mackay. Pairs and Teams travelled from Rockhampton, Yeppoon, Townsville, Bowen, Gold Coast, Toowoomba andAirlie Beach. It was great to see so many familiar faces from all over the state. Mackay members joined together and worked tirelessly to make this event a success. Local Team Morris won Section B. The team consisted of Ted Cullinan, Annie Lynch, (Noel Bugeia - President), Sandra Morris and Noel Saunders. Local Pair Diane Stokes and Ann Whitmore won Section B Pairs.

Weekly Results

Tuesday Evening 3 October 2023 – 3 Table One Winner Mitchell Green Points

1st Eric Leivesley / Janelle Conroy 2nd Debra Goodchild / Eric Goodchild

3rd Helen Van Den Broek / Terrence Sheedy 4th Sandra Morris / Simon Barnes

Wednesday 4 October 2023 – 9 Table Mitchell Green Points


1st David Ting / Eric Goodchild 1st Gwen Liddell / Anne Lutz

2nd Marie McGuire / Nancy Wix 2nd Janet Hansen / Alan Brown

3rd Janelle Conroy / Noel Bugeia 3rd Terrence Sheedy / Eric Leivesley

4th Joy Brunette / Don Poole 4th Debra Goodchild / Ming Ting

Thursday Evening 5 October 2023 – 4 Table Green Points

1st Janet Hansen / Diane Morgan 1st Patricia Garner / Mick King

2nd Frances Brown / Ann Whitmore 2nd Ken Seaniger / Robert Carless

Friday 6 October 2023 – 10 Table Mitchell Green Points

1st Debra Goodchild / Joy Robinson 1st Janine Rodgers / Richard Wix

2nd Kath Poole / Nancy Martin 2nd Christine Nice / Diane Cox

3rd Helen Van Den Broek / Don Poole 3rd David Ting / Ming Ting

4th Carol Gaskell / Ian Gaskell 4th Eric Goodchild / Sandy Patterson

Saturday 7 October 2023 – 8 Table Mitchell Green Points


1st Debra Goodchild / Eric Goodchild 1st Frances Brown / Alan Brown

2nd Helen Van Den Broek / Joy Brunette 2nd Mick King / Jan Harris

3rd Ming Ting / David Ting 3rd Monica Darley / Kath Poole

4th Carol Gaskell / Ian Gaskell 4th Roland Taylor / Jarek Taylor

Mackay Congress 2023 Section B Teams Winners

Mackay Congress 2023 Section B Pairs Winners

In other news