Thursday, October 26, 2023


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Mackay Road Runners 2023 Awards Evening

Over sixty attendees enjoyed the 2023 Annual Mackay Road Runners Awards Evening at The Grove last week, with ecstatic recipients, friends and families celebrating in style and good humour alongside a presentation of awards and prizes.

Club Patron, Mr Col Meng was on-hand to present the awards, receiving several awards on behalf of his talented grandchildren, Luke and Lily who were unable to attend.

Club President, Tim Magoffin presented a cheque to Christine and Barry Comben of the Mackay Branch of Leukaemia Foundation Australia. A sensational donation of over $121,000 was received, from funds raised through the 2023 BMA Mackay Marina Run.

By far, the biggest annual amount raised since the inception of the event in 2008, with the event progressing very successfully ever since under the guidance of the committee, headed by Founders Sandy and Chris Strong. This brings the total amount raised for the Leukaemia Foundation to nearly $600,000 across the life span of the event.  

Another major highlight of the evening was Club Captain, Jim Ford receiving the honour of becoming the tenth Mackay Road Runners Life Member.

Since Jim arrived in the area nearly twenty years ago, he immediately joined the Club and began a life-long, dedicated relationship with the legendary local club that is nearing its fiftieth birthday.  

Jim does an amazing amount of work behind-the-scenes, also volunteering his time to liaise the Wednesday afternoon track sessions every week throughout the entire year. In addition, Jim also captains the off-season Shawn’s Summer Series from October to February.

These two events are not the only thing Jim’s contribution and leadership are known for, he is also available to assist at many functions where the club requires volunteers. He’s a very busy person outside of the club with work and family commitments, however amazingly still makes the time and effort to support the Mackay Road Runners.

Congratulations to Jim, a very well-deserved recipient of the Mackay Road Runners Life Membership Club.

Major highlights of the Awards evening, as well as age category awards for runners from ages 12 to over 70.

Junior Female Club Champion – Lily Leven (1st), Abigail Sweeney (2nd) and Millie Bishop (3rd)

Junior Male Club Champion – Luke Leven (1st), Toby Rule (2nd) and Jared Mackie (3rd)

Podiatry Mackay Junior Encourage Award – Walker Murray

Overall Open Female Club Champion –  Alana Knezevic (1st), Carolyn Mapes (2nd) and Teresa Hackney (3rd)

Overall Open Male Club Champion - Paul Mackenzie (1st), Oliver Rule (2nd) and Mick Vivian (3rd)

Overall Handicap Points Champion – Grant Holmstrom (1st), Joe Grech (2nd) and Luke Leven (3rd)

The Col & Rhonda Club Person of the Year – Julie Whibley

Life Membership Award – Jim Ford

Andergrove 10km Handicap Champion – Oliver Rule

Forsyths Accounting Shawn Claydon Memorial 10km Club Championship – Tahnie Malagueno (Female) and Oliver Rule (Male)

Benita Willis Handicap 10km – Oliver Rule

Most Supportive – Helen Leven

Most Committed – Carmel Mahon

Most Improved – Luke Leven

Encouragement – Natasha Joynson

Eungella King & Queen of the Mountain – Alana Knezevic (Female) and Cristian Smith (Male)

Lucky Door Prize – Paul Tilse

The Mackay Branch of Leukaemia Foundation Australia's Christine Comben, and Barry Comben accept cheque from Mackay Road Runners President Tim Magoffin

Third place Female Junior Club Champion, Millie Bishop presented her award by Club Patron, Col Meng

Mackay Road Runners Over 70yrs Club Champions David Isbister and Stuart Sprott receive their age category awards from Club Patron, Mr Col Meng (centre).

Mr Jim Ford receives Life Membership congratulated by current Life Members (left to right) – Judy Zahn, Jim, Janelle Tilse, Paul Tilse, Wendy Shields and Merv Shields

Open Male Club Champion Paul Mackenzie (left) accepts major prize from Club Patron Col Meng and 2nd placegetter Oliver Rule (Toby Rule standing in for his brother Oliver)

Open Female Club Champion, Alana Knezevic’s 1st prize collected by her Dad, Jim Ford (left) with 2nd place Carolyn Mapes and 3rd place Teresa Hackney, presented by Vice President Brendan Bishop.

Encouragement Award recipient, Natasha Joynson received from Vice President, Brendan Bishop

Grant Holmstrom (left), winner of Overall Handicap Points Championship Trophy with second place Joe Grech (right) and Vice President, Brendan Bishop.

Photos supplied

In other news