Thursday, August 24, 2023


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Scale Model Exhibit And Competition A Rousing Success

Mackay Scale Modellers Club hosted its 29th annual exhibition and Model Competition in St Paul’s Uniting Church hall last weekend – attracting enthusiasts from as far as Townsville, Cairns, Rockhampton and Brisbane.

Sponsored by Outlaw Paints and BBs Hobbies Mackay, the judges were impressed by the 150 entries lodged that featured intricate scale models of a variety of subjects including nautical, military, aviation and civil historical themes, spiced up with fantasy and science fiction.

Brent Wood was the recipient of the Greg Martin Memorial Award for Best on Show (Logging Camp) – an award that perpetuates the memory of the Club’s founder with partner Vicki Ayre on hand to present the prize.

Club President Wayne Belzer of BBs Hobbies thanked major sponsor Outlaw Paints for their tremendous support and his tireless team for their work behind the scenes.

“Models on show included scratch-built creations and these scale replicas are the result of the labour of love of talented model makers who worked patiently and diligently for hours to make intricate miniature replicas out of diverse materials,” he said.

Winning modellers were: JUNIOR: Cars & Figures Fictional: Sidney Newlands; Science Fiction & Wooden Models: Alexander Newlands; LEGO & Model Railways: Dallas Head; SENIORS: Aircraft Large Scale: Alvin Whyte; Motorcycles: Greg Canning; Military Vehicle Small Scale: Greg Canning; All Types & Large Scale Tracked: Alvin Whyte; Large Scale Wheeled: Chris Bean; Miscellaneous: Dimi Markou; Scratchbuilt: Rob Farlow; Science Fiction: Ross Moore; Ships Powered: Jeremy Cahill; War Vehicles Gaming Figures: Alvin Whyte; Aircraft Small Scale: Brad Hurley; Cars Modified: Jason Waddell; Cars Out of Box: Alvin Whyte; Cartoon & Egg Models: Ross Moore; Trucks & Civil Vehicles: Jason Waddell; Dioramas & Vignettes: Adam Robins & Brent Wood; Figures Actual: Jeremy Cahill; Fictional: Ross Moore; LEGO Senior: Scott Newland & Myles Somerset; Rail Layouts LEGO Senior: Myles Somerset; Aircraft Display: Myles Somerset; Best World War 2 Model: Tony Hill; Military Vehicle Large Scale: Chris Bean; People’s Choice: Simon Blom.

Mackay Scale Modellers Club President Wayne Belzer (standing far right) with this year’s exhibition competition winners L-R Simon Blom, Rob Farlow, Brent Wood, Ross Moore, Dallas Head, Scott Newlands, Jeremy Cahill, Adam Robins and Alvin Whyte (seated)

Brent Wood receives the Greg Martin Memorial Award for Best on Show (Logging Camp) from the late Modellers Club founder’s partner Vicki Ayre and Club President Wayne Belzer

Lego models filled the exhibit. Photo credit: Chris Karas

In other news