Thursday, June 27, 2024


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Brighter Futures For Four First-Years

Four deserving CQUniversity students can look forward to an even brighter future, thanks to the Community Bank Sarina Bendigo Bank Scholarship Program.

The first-year students were selected to receive the impressive scholarship, which provides not only financial support, but also lasting opportunities for students' career and professional growth, as well as personal development.

CQUniversity student Jordana Kelly was awarded a $9000 scholarship towards completing a Bachelor of Business, which she said was a relief off her shoulders.

“I work from home, so the financial relief from helping towards payment of tuition fees and textbooks means I can take time off with assignments,” Ms Kelly said.

“I have only moved up here in the last year, so the scholarship also means there will be chances to get involved in the community and meet new people.”

Community Bank Sarina Deputy Chair Maree Franettovich said the Bank initiated the scholarship program in 2012 to support students to study, work and play while staying local.

“Scholarships are a crucial investment in people and their aspirations – they instil confidence in students to achieve their goals and give them the opportunity to achieve more than they thought possible – right here in the greater Sarina region,” Ms Franettovich said.

“This year’s recipients are studying a diverse range of bachelor and vocational courses, and their passion and commitment to their local community and career ambitions shone through in their applications.

“We look forward to seeing how these students grow throughout their studies, and they all have great promise as future leaders in our community.”

CQUniversity student Matthew Dorl received a $6000 scholarship towards his Certificate III in Electrotechnology and said he felt honoured for the opportunity.

“This scholarship will help with costs associated with my studies and maintaining tools, and I encourage others to apply next year, as the possible reward is worth the effort,” Mr Dorl said.

Also awarded with 2024 scholarships were Brooke Jense, who obtained a $9000 boost towards her Bachelor of Accounting, and Emma Simpson, who received a $6000 scholarship towards her Certificate III in Engineering – Mechanical Trade.

Community Bank Sarina Board Chair Karen May, Deputy Chair Maree Franettovich, 2024 scholarship recipients Matthew Dorl, Emma Simpson, Jordana Kelly, Brooke Jensen, Community Bank Sarina Manager Charmaine Matsen, director Rainee Shepperson and CQUniversity’s Associate Vice-President for North Queensland Rob Brown at the scholarship presentation. Photo supplied

In other news