Thursday, March 21, 2024


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Dancing With Heart Celebrates Local Talent And Vital Charity

Review by Hannah McNamara

The MECC was filled with glamourous dresses, neat suits and pure joy and excitement as guests gathered to watch eight local participants dance their heart out to raise money for the Mackay Hospital Foundation.

Delicious mains and desserts were served with a free drink token included, allowing guests to indulge in a wine, beer or soft drink on arrival. As everyone sat around the tables, chatting and laughing, the star dancers performed their routines one by one.

First to take the stage was Emma Novosel, followed by Josh Smith, Jay Shipton, Brooke Hargrave, Chloe Gunthorpe, Solveig Lobo, Sandy Hubner and Zachary Spencer. While all performances were phenomenal, the real dance queen behind the show was Dolly from Fame Dance School, who taught the contestants their individual dance routines in the span of just a few weeks.

All dancers, participants and guests gave all the glory to the Mackay Hospital Foundation as everyone showcased their appreciation to the organisation for their ongoing service to the community. The Mackay Hospital Foundation saw a major success with the auctions and donations alone, reaching over their goal of $40,000 raised funds on the night!

Solveig Lobo took home the Highest Fundraiser Award while the People’s Choice Award was given to Emma Novosel. All eight participants were acknowledged for their efforts with a dazzling globe trophy.

Guests waited in anticipation for the overall winner to be announced, as the room echoed while thumping fists drum rolled on tables… “and the overall winner is… Zachary Spencer!”

Photo Credit: Adam Sanne

Emma Novosel Detective Inspector from Queensland Police Service

The ladies from the Mackay Hospital Foundation dedicating their time to raise funds on the night

Chloe Gunthorpe from Next Accounting

Solveig Lobo from Paradise Outdoor Advertising

Zachary Spencer from Gardian - Mortgage Choice

Dancers all together (left to right) Zachary Spencer, Solveig Lobo, Chloe Gunthorpe, Brooke Hargrave, Jay Shipton, Sandy Hubner, Josh Smith and Emma Novosel

Grand Finale Performance

Official winner, Zachary Spencer!

In other news