Thursday, September 28, 2023


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Mackay Athletes Triumph At NQ Athletics Championships

Mackay became the epicenter of Queensland's athletic excellence as the Athletics North Queensland 2023 Championships unfolded at the ARC, drawing athletes from far and wide. The event saw a dazzling display of talent, with Mackay athletes well represented across the podiums of the special trophy races.

The Jeff Buchanan Memorial 100m event delivered one of the standout moments of the championship. Julie Brims, a World Champion Masters Athlete, took the spotlight with an electrifying performance. It is thought that she may have even broken her own age group world record on the Mackay track. Aurelia Boyd secured silver and Aviva Damjanovic proudly claimed bronze.

The men's Jeff Buchanan Memorial 100m event saw Sam McArthur sprinting his way to victory, leaving the crowd in awe. Taige Hooper clinched silver, while Damon Brown showcased his speed to earn the bronze.

The John Campbell Miles 100 Yards & QLD Championship added to the local triumph. Kiera McGregor emerged as the champion, while Mikayla Webb, a representative of the region, secured a commendable second place, and Kaitlin Bitossi captured bronze.

In the Hector Hogan 100 Yards & QLD Championship, Sam McArthur continued his dominance, securing the gold. Abeli Mukamba claimed the silver, and Damon Brown's tenacity earned him the bronze.

Mackay's Oliver Rule showcased remarkable endurance as he claimed the inaugural Benita Willis 10000m Shield. The gold medal was a testament to his dedication and training. Jared Mackie secured the silver, while Murray Wonnocott won bronze.

The Queensland Mile Championships witnessed another Rule family triumph. Toby Rule, the younger sibling, clinched the gold, demonstrating the family's athletic prowess. Nicholas Fogale secured the silver, and Liam Mumford, yet another Mackay athlete, claimed the bronze, capping off a stellar performance for the region.

Jeff Buchanan Memorial 100m

John Campbell Miles 100 Yards

Benita Willis 10000m Shield won by Oliver Rule

Toby Rule won the Queensland Mile Championships, with Federal Member for Dawson Andrew Willcox presenting the sash. Photo credit: Athletics North Queensland

In other news