Thursday, May 18, 2023


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

NRL Gala Day Trophy Triumph

For Mighty St Patrick’s Red League Rookies

Meet the promising St Patrick’s College Red rookies that captured the NRL Gala Day Trophy last week at the Mackay Junior League Fields.

Under the guidance of Sports Co-ordinator Mercy campus Matthew Paul, the Mackay colts underlined their depth of talent       with impressive victories in the preliminary rounds before toppling Bowen State High School 8-4 in the Year 7/8 trophy decider.

It is a second championship title for the young St Patrick’s warriors who won the Mackay Secondary Schools Year 7/8 rugby league premiership last month.  

St Patrick’s Red defeated Pioneer State High, Moranbah State High White and Mackay State High in the lead up to the Final.

Led by rampaging props Nate Faulkner and Tom Mulherin, the Reds forwards laid the foundations for victory with powerful performances with lock Flynn Taylor, hooker Mason Muscat and back rowers Seth Collins, Angus Barns, Theo James, Jude Fidler, Blake Battaia, Tayt Rowe, Connor Peno and back up hooker Zac Johnson turning in strong displays.

Elusive centres Harper Shields and Jaden Chimes posted the Reds’ two tries in the Grand Final.

Talented halves Darcy Cabassi and Matt Fenech provided slick service to a St Patrick’s backline loaded with talent and featuring top fullback prospect Nathan Simon, wingers Sonny Doring and Kooper Tomlinson and the versatile Kade Coburn.

David Casale’s St Patrick’s Blue and Blake Paskins’ St Patrick’s White sides also chalked up victories in the Pool fixtures.

Other schools to enter teams in the NRL Gala Trophy included Moranbah State High, Sarina State High, Mackay Northern Beaches State High, Pioneer State High, Mackay State High, Mirani State High and Mackay Christian College.

Contributed by Chris Karas

St Patrick’s College Red standing L-R: Angus Barns, Jaden Chimes, Darcy Cabassi. Flynn Taylor, Nate Faulkner, Tom Mulherin, Connor Peno, Kade Coburn, Zac Johnson, Blake Battaia, Matt Fenech, Matthew Paul (coach), Harper Shields; front Tayt Rowe, Mason Muscat, Kooper Tomlinson, Sonny Doring, Theo James, Jude Fidler, Seth Collins and Nathan Simon

In other news