Thursday, February 29, 2024


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Roosters, Magpies, Pitbulls And Sharks All Nab Junior Cricket Titles

Emerging all-rounder Jack Law produced another masterclass to propel
Walkerston/Brothers to a premiership title in the Mackay Junior Cricket
Association Under 17s Grand Final at Great Barrier Reef Arena last weekend.

The fifteen-year-old schoolboy sensation  a regular in the Brothers first
grade X1 this summer snared 2-12 in a fiery five over spell to help his
side topple minor premiers Magpies White in the trophy decider.

It capped a successful campaign for the Mackay-Whitsunday junior
representative ace who was named Player of the North Queensland Cricket
Alliance Under 15 Carnival.

At the State Regional Championships in December, the talented colt
represented Central Queensland Infernos along with Brothers teammates
Lachie Ipson and Connor Muller.

Walkerston/Brothers (1-101) posted a resounding victory over the Magpies
(5-100) with Cameron Tomerini (31 not out), Marcus Sammut (27 not out) and
Ben Garner (18) impressing with the bat.

Magpies opener Benjamin Meng (32 off 78 balls) and skipper Myles Cochrane
(28 not out off 34 balls) led the way for the minor premiers.

The Magpies were 2-77 at one stage before Law claimed the key wicket of top
scorer Meng, who was caught by Cael Landt, with Muller and Will Sammut also
grabbing scalps.

Proserpine Cricket Club registered a comprehensive victory over Magpies
White in the Under 15A Grand Final at George Gorrie Oval.

Will Logan (25 off 31 balls), Donovan Pettiford (19 not out) and Jack
Valmadre (14 not out) produced top knocks as the Pitbulls (1-67) eclipsed
the Magpies (66) in a nine-wicket romp.

Proserpine¹s promising quartet of Joshua Geisler (3-2 off ten balls), Kai
McLoughlin (3-13 off four overs), Oliver Seamer (2-5 off four) and Lachlan
Riley (2-6 off two) made an impact with the ball.

Magpies Under 14 Black were crowned champions after rolling minor premiers
Walkerston Under 14s in the Under 15B Grand Final at Jack Lancaster Oval.
The Magpies compiled 5-128 from their 25 overs with valuable knocks from
Xander Ness (42 runs off 63) with five boundaries, Max Hughes (16), skipper
Jacob Whitby (13) and Chaise Johnston (12 not out).

Ness combined with Hughes for an opening stand of 45 and second wicket union
of 56 with Aarnov Reelh (10) with Cooper Gray-Knight (2-14) the pick of the
Roosters’ attack.

Walkerston were restricted to 6-101 with Logan Simpkin (30), skipper Tyler
Peters (29) and Ayden Loader (14) carving out spirited displays with the bat
and Magpies duo Johnston (3-20 off five) and Jack Nugent (1-18) the stand
outs with the ball.

The Roosters also collected the Under 13 premiership trophy with a
hard-fought Grand Final win over Proserpine at Park Vigoro.

Flynn Ryan (31 not out off 23 balls with five boundaries) top scored for
Walkerston (6-93) with solid contributions from Clancy Sammut (14) and Isaac
Grech (11 retired) as they eclipsed the Pitbulls tally of 7-91.

James Finn (17 not out), Oliver Dibben (17) and Emerson Baker (11) and Brock
Childs (2-7) shone for Proserpine with Roosters all-rounder Grech snaring
3-17 off four.

Souths captured the Under 12s premiership trophy with a victory over
Proserpine at Park Vigoro.

Spencer Faulkner was best on ground for the Sharks who racked up 7-108
clouting an unbeaten 24 with a boundary and six and grabbing 1-7 off three
tidy overs.

He was supported by Beau McPherson (19), Hunter Towner (18) and Leopold
Murphy (11 not out) with promising all-rounder Aiden Farley snaring 2-13 off

The Pitbulls were restricted to 8-85 with fine efforts from siblings Jaxson
Farley (12) and Aiden (10 not out) and Kobi Whitty (11).

Souths trio Connor Stephens, Jack Harriott and Harry Mulherin also picked up
crucial wickets in a strong bowling display.

In other news