Thursday, September 28, 2023


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Super Saints Celebrate AFL Premiership Trifecta

North Mackay Saints have etched their names in the local AFL record books after securing a fifth consecutive Senior Men’s premiership.

The well drilled Saints stamped themselves the most successful club in the 2023 AFL Mackay competition after toppling the Eastern Swans 9-9 (58) to 5-4 (34) to lift the Allied Cup at Etwell Park in Bakers Creek.

It was a Grand Final Day to savour for the proud North Mackay organisation who also clinched the Senior Women and Under 14 premierships to come away with a deserved trifecta.

Saints ace Alec Townsend was named Best on Ground after a powerhouse display with support from Luke Slater, Jackson Perkins, Patrick Ryan, Cody Filewood, Brad Smith and Steven Pugh, this year’s Mick Miller Medal recipient for the competition’s Best & Fairest Player.

The Saints led 20-8 at the half time break and 40-9 at the end of the third quarter before the Swans staged a late revival.

Filewood booted four goals for the match with Ryan, Townsend, Cameron Hill, Cal McLeod and Cohen Frith all adding six pointers.

The Saints’ latest triumph was the club’s 14th title in the Senior Mens ranks following earlier trophy wins in 1974, 1976, 1983, 1987, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022.

Joseph Hackney, Jack Mentha, Mark Svaikauskas, Joshua Moyle, Ryan Haynes and Mitchell Cook tried hard for the Swans.


North Mackay claimed the Triple M Cup Senior Women’s title after blitzing Mackay City Hawks 5-8 (38) to 1.

Saints dynamo Alysha Nunn was Best on Ground after a superb performance with Lyneeka Hollows (4 goals), skipper Rahnee Vaccaneo, Siobhan Carlton, Kirra Swanson, Emily Upton, Teresa Jenkins and Miya Scott also turning in strong games.

There was double reason for the Saints to celebrate after avenging last year’s Grand Final loss to the Hawks.


Mackay Magpies collected the Mackay Cup Reserve Grade trophy with an impressive 11-5 (71) to 7-4 (46) victory over North Mackay Saints.

Magpies star Harry Thompson was Best on Ground with support from Tim Moon, Tom Roney, Matt Bowerman and Noah Gauci.


Moranbah Bulldogs were crowned Under 17 Boys champions after tossing Whitsunday Sea Eagles by 9-5 (59) to 5-3 (33).

The Bulldogs led 15-14 at the half time interval and 29-27 at the third break before finishing strongly with five goals to clinch the Isuzu UTE Cup.

Outstanding Bulldogs prospect Taylor Edie was named Best on Ground and was ably supported by Andrew Dyer (five goals), skipper Blake Thompson, Harrison Rogers, Lincoln Nicholas and Riley King.

The Sea Eagles were best served by Ryan Mansfield, Foxx LaMonica, Jacob Dewis, Jack Jeffries and Nash McIntosh.


North Mackay unveiled their depth of junior talent to capture the Under 14 Boys premiership with a 7-7 (49) to 3-6 (24) triumph over the Mackay Magpies.

Spearheaded by a best on ground performance from Elias Goss, the Saints peaked in the most important match of the season – leading all the way to sink the minor premiers and claim the Isuzu UTE Shield.

Other Saints’ players to shine were Jack Kirwan, Zahn Bugeja, Michael Bronsema and skipper Lincoln Morgan while Callum Strydom, Xavier Wayman, skipper Kyle Roberts and Hunter Wood impressed for the Magpies.


Eastern Swans lifted the Under 12 Boys Isuzu UTE premiership trophy after trouncing Whitsunday Sea Eagles 6-8 (44) to 2-2 (14).

The Swans – who lost only one match all season - had too many big guns for the Sea Eagles with emerging colt Winston Sutton named Best on Ground with support from Beau McPherson, Zaide Cornell, Corey Mills and Kai Percy.

Whitsunday were best served by Connor Marks, Hunter Cornwall, Stirling Rogan-Hamilton, Tyson Fowler and Jack Smith.

Men’s Grand Final, Saints v Eastern Swans

Women’s Grand Final, Saints v Hawks

Reserve’s Grand Final, Magpies v Saints

U17 Grand Final, Bulldogs v Sea Eagles

U14 Grand Final, Saints v Magpies

U12 Grand Final, Swans v Sea Eagles

In other news