Thursday, August 24, 2023


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Tenacious St Patrick’s Succumb To Mighty Mackay State High

In Girls Rugby League Trophy Decider

Mackay State High School are the Mackay School Sport Girls Year 7/8 Rugby League champions for 2023.

The Milton Street school staved off a spirited challenge from St Patrick’s College in wet conditions to claim the title with a 20-6 Grand Final victory at the Mackay Junior League Fields.

Bolstered by the recruitment of ace playmaker Vitea Parter from St Patrick’s in recent weeks, the Mackay State High girls showed their class and power to bring home the trophy.

Under the coaching of talented Mackay Cutters utility Harry Thorpe, the St Patrick’s outfit finished the season on a strong note.

“The girls improved with each match and recorded some impressive victories during the competition,” revealed a proud Thorpe post-match.

“Highlight was the recent win over Mackay State High where the girls played smart football in a top team effort,” he said.

“Unfortunately, they couldn’t reproduce their best in the Grand Final but the girls tried valiantly in abysmal conditions against a very strong MSH side” Thorpe added.

The loss of Magpies rugby league star Parter, an outstanding all round sportswoman, on the eve of the finals was a savage blow to the St Patrick’s camp.

Coach Thorpe and manager Nicole Martin praised the efforts of promising hooker Jade Williams, hard working second rower Jess McLennan, fullback Jacqueline ‘Gee Gee” Walsh, centre Stella Cullen, winger Indy Jorgensen, centre and utility forward Chelsea Webb and strong running forward Brianna Renehan.

“They led the way with strong performances each week and showed that determination and a never-say-die attitude can take you a long way,” said Nicole.

“Our girls were brave against a powerful MSH team and thoroughly deserved a crack at the title” she added.

By Chris Karas

St Patrick’s College Girls Year 7/8 team Standing L-R Cleo Daly, Chloe Townsend, Chelsea Webb, Jess McLennan, Isla Linwood, Asher Grigg, Mia Pullen, Lilah Lewis, Rose Bradley; front Hannah Ness, Mia Hill, Indy Jorgensen, Brianna Renehan, Jade Williams, Layla Bungay, Zakayah Day, Stella Cullen, Jacqueline Walsh. Absent: Rihanna Andrew. Photo supplied

In other news