Thursday, August 24, 2023


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Wangaratta Bowls

Tuesday’s winners at Wangaratta Bowls Club were Lindy Suann and Michael Parra, who defeated Deb Retchless and Sugar Brunker.

Other winners were Stumpy Adams and Kevin Jewell against Bron Tolcher and Terry Feaks.

Congratulations to the Wangaratta Team of Merle Elphinstone, Isobel Wheeler, Robyn Stitt, Lyn Danvers, and Margaret Wilson in gaining fourth place at the Bowen Bowls Club Fours carnival last weekend.

Competition is now in full swing with games to be played Saturday and Sunday.

Ladies’ handicap consistency results: Bron Tolcher defeated Margaret Wilson, Teresa Willshire defeated Denise Wallace, Penny Warren defeated Irene Laird.

Round 1 of Club Fours results: Denise Wallace, Teresa Willshire, Linda Scells, and Penny Warren defeated Robyn Stitt, Lyn Danvers, Margaret Wilson, and Fely Duncan.

Round 1 of Men’s Club Fours: Bill Myers, Greg Colquhoun, Peter Hinschen, and Geoff Danvers defeated Laurie Land, Kent Moriarty, Mark Drummond, and Allan Rolfe.

Sunday social bowls resulted in the winners coming out on Rink 3, with Merle Elpohinstone, Penny Warren, and Geoff Danvers winning against the team of Gwenda Lydom, Isobel Wheeler, and Sugar Brunker.

Other games saw Barry Beel and Mark Drummond defeat Terry Blair and Kevin Jewell, while Gary Goodwin and Laurie Land defeated Wanda Goodwin and Deb Retchless.

In the final game of the weekend, Rod Mumby, Linda Scells, and Allan Rolfe joined the winner’s circle, beating the team of Bron Tolcher, Sue Shearing, and Pat Tracey.  

Contributed with thanks to Penny Warren

Wangaratta Bowls Club Sunday winners Club President Mark Drummond, Geoff Danvers, and Penny Warren

In other news