Thursday, September 7, 2023


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Mackay Contract Bridge Club

Seventeen Mackay members, including the director Geoff Taylor, attended the Yeppoon Congress two weekends ago. Open Pairs Winners were Alan and Francie Brown with Janelle Conroy and Monica Darley third. In the Open teams, the Holewa team, Max and Di, and Janelle and Monica were third. The Morris team, Sandra Morris, Annie Lynch, Ted Cullinan and Noel Saunders, finished above their ranking with second in B Grade.

Weekly Results

Monday 28 August 2023 – 7 Table Mitchell Green Points


1st Jan Harris / Helen Van Den Broek 1st Ian Cruickshank / Mary Cruickshank

2nd Monica Darley / Nancy Martin 2nd Margaret Lane / Barbara Tait

3rd Edward Kliese / Diane Stokes 3rd Victor Mason / Antonia Tarradas

Monday Eclectic August 2023

1st Diane Stokes

2nd Antonia Tarradas

3rd Helen Van Den Broek

Tuesday Evening 29 August 2023 - 4 Table Mitchell Green Points


1st Janet Hansen / Diane Morgan 1st Helen Van Den Broek / Terrence Sheedy

2nd Janelle Conroy / Eric Leivesley 2nd Sandra Morris / Frances Brown

Tuesday Evening Eclectic August 2023

1st Diane Morgan

2nd Eric Leivesley

3rd Janelle Conroy

Wednesday 30 August 2023 – Auswide Open Pairs – 9 Table Mitchell


1st Max Holewa / Diane Holewa 1st Ming Ting / David Ting

2nd Alan Brown / Janelle Conroy 2nd Ian Cruickshank / Mary Cruickshank

3rd Eric Leivesley / Terrence Sheedy 3rd Josie Cowley / Barbara Tait

Wednesday Eclectic August 2023

1st David Ting

2nd Eric Goodchild

3rd Ming Ting

Thursday Evening 31 August 2023 – 5 Table One Winner Green Points

1st Frances Brown / Ann Whitmore

2nd Ken Seaniger / Robert Carless

3rd Patricia Garner / Mick King

Thursday Evening Eclectic August 2023

1st Anne Whitmore

2nd Frances Brown

3rd Terrence Sheedy

Friday 01 September 2023 - 7 Table Mitchell Green Points


1st Frances Brown / Alan Brown 1st Victor Mason / Josie Cowley

2nd Helen Van Den Broek / Don Poole 2nd Geoff Taylor / Joy Robinson

3rd Joyce Deguara / Toni Large 3rd Monica Darley / Gwen Liddell

Open Winners Frances and Alan Brown

3rd Open Teams - Monica Darley, Janelle Conroy, Award Presenter, Diane and Max Holewa. Photos supplied

In other news