Thursday, August 24, 2023


Mackay and Whitsunday Life


The search is on for our sporting heroes, both on and off the field, with nominations now open for the North Queensland Sportstar Awards.

From athletes and coaches to administrators and club members, the awards recognise the achievements of those individuals and volunteers who symbolise the very best in sport.

North Queensland Sports Foundation director and Mackay Regional Council councillor, Laurence Bonaventura, said this year was the 40th anniversary since the foundation was established and the 32nd annual awards ceremony.

“The North Queensland Sportstar Awards are the longest running dedicated sporting awards in Queensland and Mackay Regional Council is very proud to be hosting this special celebration of the foundation at the awards this year,” Cr Bonaventura said.

“This is a fantastic opportunity for our local sporting heroes to be recognised in their hometown, so I encourage everyone to take the time to nominate Mackay region individuals and teams who have performed exceptionally at their sport,” he said.

There are 11 categories available for nomination:

• NQ Sportstar of the Year.

• NQ Rural and Remote Sportstar of the Year.

• Junior Sportstar of the Year.

• NQ Junior Rural and Remote Sportstar of the Year.

• Athlete with Disability Sportstar of the Year.

• Sports Team of the Year.

• Junior Sports Team of the Year.

• Masters Sportstar of the Year.

• Volunteer of the Year.

• NQ Service to Sport.

• Sporting Excellence Award.

The NQ Hall of Fame inductee for 2023 will also be announced on the night and added to the list that includes Cathy Freeman, Pat Rafter and Lawrie Lawrence.

This year the awards will be held on Saturday, November 4, at the MECC. Special guest keynote speaker is Olympic champion swimmer Brooke Hansen OAM.

Nominations for the awards close at midnight on Friday, September 1.

For more information and judging criteria, visit North Queensland Sports Foundation online.

Local BMX star Connor Parish won the Sporting Excellence Award at last year’s NQ Sportstar Awards

In other news