Thursday, February 15, 2024


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Proserpine High Led By Capable Students

The 2024 School Leaders of Proserpine State High School have officially been inducted into their roles, at a special ceremony last week.

These students are now eager to begin their year of school leadership with prowess and confidence.

The School Captains, Reid Ogden and Alice Pini are two confident and capable leaders, and are joined with School Vice Captains Holly Perrin and Nathan Richards.

School Principal Mr Don McDermid said he looked forward to seeing all students thrive and reach their full potential.

“I encourage all students to use their leadership skills or simply be a role model to make a difference to those around them and help make our school a better place,” he said.

“Work hard to be the best you!”

2023 Graduates Sam Rogers and Shehara Bradely were also invited back for the special ceremony, where they were awarded for their academic prowess in 2023.

Sam was awarded Dux of the Year, as well as the Douglas Debney Memorial Bursary, on behalf of Wilmar Sugar for being named top male student for 2023.

Shehara was awarded the George Telford Memorial Bursary on behalf of Wilmar, for being the top performing female student of 2023.

Sam expressed his gratitude for the generosity of Wilmar towards himself and Shehara. He also acknowledged the support from the broader school community.

“The bursary provided will be a significant help as we embark on our first year of university,” he said.

“It’s a scary time, but support like this paves the road beneath our feet. It’s truly remarkable to belong to a community where local organisations like Wilmar are so personally invested in the dreams and pursuits of young individuals.”

   1. School Principal Don McDermid, Reid Ogden, Alice Pini, Holly Perrin, and Nathan Richards.

   2. The entire 2024 Proserpine State High School Leadership team

   3. Sam Rogers and Shehara Bradely, recipients of Wilmar bursaries. Photos supplied

In other news