Thursday, August 24, 2023


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Tim Paine Appointed Skipper

Of Inaugural Great Barrier Reef Rays

Former Australian Test cricket captain Tim Paine will lead new franchise the Great Barrier Reef Rays in this year’s Brisbane Premier League 100 Ball competition.

The international keeper, who announced his retirement from first class cricket at the conclusion of Tasmania’s final Sheffield Shield match of the season, was snapped up by the Rays at the recent BPL player auction.

Paine will skipper the inaugural Rays outfit – based in Mackay – during the intense three day competition from August 11 to August 13 in Brisbane.

With a combined 70 Test matches and one day internationals under his belt, Paine’s appearance in the team is an incredible opportunity for regional players to learn and develop their skills from one of the legends of Australian Cricket.

Paine, who played 154 first class matches, will be joined by Melbourne Stars hot shot batsman Nick Larkin, who has linked with the Rays as an inter-state recruit.

Great Barrier Reef Rays joined the competition with the aim of providing more opportunities and access to development for regional players from Central and North Queensland.

Promising 20-year-old Mackay Magpies off spinner Isaac Borg and Northern Suburbs all rounder Lane Kohler were named in the Rays’ 14-man Senior squad.

Great Barrier Reef Rays full team list: Tim Paine (captain); Nick Larkin; Angus Lovell; Blake Maher; Sam Lowry;  Liam Smith; Mitch Doolan; Noah McFadyen; Raveesh Srivastava;  Lane Kohler; Sam Yabsly; Lachlan Holmes; Reece Neyland  and Isaac Borg.

In other news