Wednesday, January 24, 2024


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Valley Cricketers Secure Grand Final Berth

Pioneer Valley have advanced to the Grand Final of the 2023-24 Mackay Cricket Association Twenty20 Division One Shootout competition.

The Valley secured top position on percentages after edging out second placed Norths in their final round clash at George Gorrie Oval last weekend.

In a low scoring tussle, Pioneer openers Mitch English (51 runs off 52 balls) and Cody Filewood (46) led the way against the Devils with a vital opening stand of 84 to help post a tally of 5-128.

Norths (9-103) fell short of their target with Kai Higham (23) and Mason Kohler (21) the only batsmen to hit their straps after the Devils were tottering at 4-34.

Bailey Camilleri (3-21) and Jade Filewood (2-17) were the pick of the Valley bowlers with Jason Butterworth (3-18) a stand out for Norths.

The Devils will now square off with Walkerston in a Grand Final qualifier on Friday February 2 at Great Barrier Reef Arena after the Roosters (5-157) eliminated the Magpies (9-133) from finals reckoning.

A superb knock of 96 not out by Mackay representative batsman Sam Vassallo inspired Walkerston to a rousing victory that wrapped up third spot on the table.

The experienced Vassallo faced 64 balls and smashed a six and twelve boundaries – sharing a crucial sixth wicket partnership of 79 with team mate Tom Vandenberg (26 not out) after the Roosters were 5-78.

Young gun Liam Newbery (4-29) shone with the ball with support from skipper Chris Mceldowney (2-13) and Nick Lotarski (2-34) as the Roosters collected regular scalps to keep the Magpies at bay.

Wes Dyer (22), Ben Zurvas (21), Rhys McBride (20) and Adam Zurvas (20) failed to capitalise on enterprising starts for the Magpies, who also got value from bowler Conor Bryant (2-29).

Brothers posted a resounding victory over Souths with skipper Matthew Wicks and club stalwart Michael Dunn in outstanding form with the bat.

Wicks slammed 74 off 46 balls with eleven boundaries and Dunn (60 not out) off 52 balls as the pair registered a productive opening stand of 120 to help Brothers amass 3-177.

Rocklyn Miller hit 26 as Souths were bundled out for 109 with Toby O’Grady (3-20) and Floris Duvenhage (3-32) the chief destroyers.

Winner of the Norths v Walkerston finals clash will line up against Pioneer Valley in the trophy decider on Saturday February 3 at Great Barrier Reef Arena.

In other news