Thursday, August 24, 2023


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Airlie Bowls News

Airlie Beach Bowling Club celebrated a special event last Tuesday, with over seventy ladies from the district welcoming visitors from Bowen, Mackay, and Sarina. The occasion marked the 36th anniversary of ladies bowling, and it was a fabulous event with all rinks being utilised.

John Askew volunteered his time as the umpire for the event. Joan McGrath's team emerged as the big winners of the day, with Eddy Naylan, Bertha Archer, and Marie Fredrickson, congratulating the team on a wonderful display. Sandra Argo from ABC Distillery also made an excellent donation of beautiful spirits.

On Wednesday afternoon, Merve Stewart brilliantly ran the Jackpot Bowls, which saw a huge win to Merve as skipper with Russell Jackson at lead and Eric Barnard at second overwhelming the rest of the field. Mario De Martini was awarded the prestigious Health Hub award.

Saturday morning saw the return of Scroungers, with Terry Clarke, Merve Stewart, Betty Whitehorn, Russell Jackson, and Peter Barratt emerging as first-round winners.

The final was played between Peter Barratt and Russell Jackson, with Peter winning Round 7, while Shane Spann won the B Division prize.

Sunday afternoon bowls saw Margo Stanley's team of Dawn Dowell playing wonderful bowls at lead with Lyn Graham at second run away with the prize money. Our Chairman, Ash Warland, won the prestigious Health Hub award.

The club is also organising a mega raffle for Luke Kinnear, with details of the prizes set to be revealed next week.

Contributed with thanks to Mark Mawson.

In other news