Thursday, June 6, 2024


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Making Memorable Miles At The Annual Grove Handicap Race & Mackay Marina Run

Approximately seventy runners and supporters met at The Grove Tavern, Bedford Road, Andergrove for the racing of the annual Grove 10km Handicap Trophy on the 26th of May. Despite the onset of formal winter season only days away, the conditions were humid and sunny as runners traversed the multitude of streets in the Andergrove suburb, including the challenging Apsley Way circuit in a bid to take out the coveted 10km Grove Handicap Trophy.  

To be eligible for the trophy, all members must start off on their official handicap and whoever crosses the line first, male or female, in the 10km event is The Grove 10km Handicap Trophy champion. The trophy has been ‘running’ since 1994 with a multitude of talented athletes boasting their past glory days to all those that will listen.

The Grove 2024 Handicap champion, Craig Robinson survived a hiccup in the winners’ circle to ultimately take out the top gong. His win was even more special when he realised, he had won the top prize quoting “never won anything like this before!”  Congratulations to Craig and all the runners who made the event a great success with a lot of very memorable performances on show.

Closing in fast behind Craig were talented runners, Brad Fraser, Ashley Miles, Shane Donnollan, Cory Gould, Craigh McGahey, Carolyn Mapes, Werner VanDerLinde, Clint Mackie, Alan Zamparutti, Ollie Gorrion, John Rae, Todd Turner, Mel Esau, Theresa Hackney and previous two-time winner of The Grove Trophy, David Isbister.   Classy performances were also on show in the 5km with champion swimmer, among his many talents, Daniel Stampa breaking the tape first on handicap ahead of Julie Whibley, Rhiann Massey, Emily Dalglish, Len Haworth, Susan Petersen, Andrew Short, Natasha Joynson, Stuart Sprott and Alleny Gorrion.

Congratulations to everyone including the race major beneficiary, Mackay Leukaemia Foundation for once again being involved in the very successful BMA Mackay Marina Run 2024 last weekend.

Thank you to those who helped setup on the day and for distributing race bags for the largest regional running festival, which is the prestigious Mackay Road Runners Signature Event and Club Championship 21.1km - the very successful BMA Mackay Marina Run.

A special congratulations to the amazing Mackay Marina Run committee, it's many long-standing supportive sponsors, race ambassadors and all the very many volunteers, runners, walkers, etc, you are all hero's!

Contributed By Janelle Tilse

Paul Tilse was a past winner of the 10km The Grove Handicap Trophy presents the 2024 champion, Craig Robinson with the coveted trophy.
Warming up prior to The Grove 10km Handicap Trophy and 5km event are Emily Dalglish, Carolyn Mapes, Todd Turner, Mel Esau, Glynis Forse and Jo Skinner.
Volunteers Mick Scholer, Andrew Short, Brendan Bishop and Hughie Bishop are always happy to lend a hand.
Highest handicapped backmarkers Paul Mackenzie, Hamish Donnollan and Jared Mackie and (Luke Leven absent) await their handicap start callup.
Susan Petersen ran handy 5km despite an injury.
Multi-talented athlete, champion swimmer, Daniel Stampa easily cruises the 5km run at The Grove Handicap 10km Trophy event.

In other news