Wednesday, December 6, 2023


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

NQBP Celebrates Year Of Achievements

Last week, approximately 100 stakeholders from the port industry and local community gathered at the Mackay Surf Club to celebrate their collective achievements at the North Queensland Bulk Ports Corporation (NQBP) End of Year Stakeholder Event.

This year amongst the achievements was a bumper trade year at the Port of Mackay thanks to strong sugar, grain and fuel trade, strong environmental results and $120,000 donated across NQBP’s port communities.

Thank you to all stakeholders for their support and the commitment of NQBP’s people, port partners, customers, and port communities.

As a Queensland Government-owned port authority, NQBP is responsible for the ports of Mackay, Abbot Point, Hay Point, and Weipa in far north Queensland.

North Queensland Bulk Ports Corporation (NQBP) CEO Brendan Webb, Mackay Isaac Tourism’s Andrea Davis, Wisely Group’s Chris Bugeja

NQBP Board Chair Jane McTaggart, NQBP Board Director Jorgen Gullestrup and NQBP Board Director Lynn Smart

AECOM’s Bart Wassink and NQBP Board Director Paul Heagney

NQBP Board Director Monica McKendry and Mackay Regional Council Cr Fran Mann

Auriga Group’s Keith Thompson and NQBP’s Darren Brownsey

NQBP’s Kevin Kane and Mackay and Whitsunday Life’s Zach Thomas and Jessica Clark

Mackay Regional Council Deputy Mayor Cr Karen May, Greater Whitsunday Alliance’s Kylie Porter and Greater Whitsunday Communities Antoinette du Toit

Vassallo Constructions’ Jared Vassallo and Marcus Fossey with NQBP’s Kingo Gan and Hossein Saadai

NQBP CEO Brendan Webb welcomes guests

Yuwi representative Uncle Philip Kemp provided a Welcome to Country

In other news