Thursday, May 11, 2023


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Proserpine Golf Report


It was John Roser's excellent play that helped him win the Tuesday Monthly Medal with 71 nett, narrowly defeating playing partner Michael Cragg on a countback, Allen Roberts won 3rd place with 72 nett. NTP winners were Gohn Grosskreutz and Tina Badenhorst.


Pauline Redpath was the winner of the PD Law Monthly Medal on Wednesday winning on a countback from Di Chard and Lyn Muller, all on 73 nett. NTP winners were Trish McNeill x 2, Jacqui Wall and Ann Gardel.


The Venue Smart Monthly Medal was hotly contested on Thursday, Allen Roberts was too good in Division 1, with 69 nett, closely followed by Sean Fogerty and Trevor Nosworthy both on 70 nett. Division 2 was also close, with Trevor Paroz beating Chris Brett by one shot on 70 nett and Chris on 71 nett. Jim Cochrane was in 3rd place with 72 nett.

NTP winners: Sean Fogerty, John Roser, Dave O’Connor, and Leigh Jones


Adam Hagy's new clubs did the trick in the Met 9 Hole Run on Friday, coming in with an unbeaten 23 points. Karlene Lloyd was closest to the winning score with 21 points and Fraser Simpson edged out 4 others on a count back with 19 points. Sean Gower and Ryan Wilkes were the NTP winners.


The RGH Monthly Medal was contested by 89 players on Saturday. Ash Law led the way to win overall with an outstanding 65 nett, Ash was also the winner of the B Grade RGH Medal. Rod Wecker and Blake Lovelock came in 2nd & 3rd in B Grade with 71 and 72 respectively.

A Grade winner was Dave O’Connor with a 69 nett beating Jon Miller on a count back. Levi Holmes claimed 3rd position on 70 nett.

More great scores in C Grade with Bailey Hayward winning with 69 nett, Mark McDougal and Vic Feldman both on 70 nett.

NTP winners: Gavin Kerwand, Bailey Hayward and Dave O'Connor.

The ladies’ winner, Peta Thomas also posted an excellent score on Saturday to win the RGH Monthly Medal, on 67 nett, 2nd place was Ann Gardel also with an outstanding score on 69 nett and Jill Farinelli in 3rd place with 74 nett.

NTP winners: Lyn Muller and Peta Thomas x 2


Karen Rix claimed 1st place in the Ladies Monthly Medal on Sunday with a very nice 71 nett, followed by the inform Peta Thomas on 74 nett. Jason Bourke had a scorching 66 nett to win the Men's Monthly Medal, closely followed by Ryan Wilkes with a sub-par 67 nett, and Mark McDougal also on 67 nett winning 3rd place.

NTP winners: Jason Bourke, Ryan Wilkes, Clay Coles, Levi Holmes, Peta Thomas and Penny Wardroper.

Contributed with thanks to the Proserpine Golf Club Pro Shop Team

In other news