Wednesday, December 6, 2023


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Unbeaten Proserpine 15s Rack Up Eight Wins On The Trot

Magpies White have thrown down the gauntlet to premiership pacesetters Walkerston Roosters in the Mackay Junior Cricket Association Under 17 series.

The second placed Magpies remain in the title mix after skittling Pioneer Valley in a low scoring one day tussle last Saturday at Jack Lancaster Oval in Harrup Park.

On a morning where the ball dominated the bat the Magpies chalked up 8-102 from their 25 overs with gritty knocks by

Robert Hatherly (30 runs off 48 balls) and an unbeaten 21 from Rory Franklin.

Spearheading the Valley attack was paceman Darcy Sanderson who grabbed the impressive figures of 3-9 off his four overs with support from Hayden Morrow (2-11), Ben Valmadre (2-11) and Jacob Williams (1-19).

In reply, the Valley could only muster 8-74 with Zac Miles top-scoring with a stylish 39 from 36 balls that included three boundaries and two sixes.

Magpies bowling trump Thomas Rourke shone with the ball – snaring 3-19 off four overs with all-rounder and first grade rookie George Fortescue grabbing 2-8.

In Under 15A Division action, competition leaders Proserpine preserved their unbeaten record with a resounding victory over Magpies White at Roy Trevaskis Oval.

Sent in to bat, the Proserpine Mixed team posted 5-145 from their 25 overs with solid contributions from opener Matthew Logan (36), Ky Porter (25) and Donovan Pettiford (23).

Zac Pace was the pick of the Magpies bowlers with figures of 2-23 off four overs.

The Magpies struggled in their run chase and were bundled out for 87 despite a classy 34 from Mackay-Whitsunday junior representative ace Ishan Rana that included five boundaries.

Logan (2-1), Malaki Gabey (2-8), Karl Ward (2-11) and Kai McLoughlin (2-19) shared the bowling spoils for Proserpine.

In other news